Imagine!

31 10 2016

At I Corinthians 2:9, we read, “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love Him.”

 

I really don’t think we can truly appreciate what lies ahead. God has promised His children a home in His presence and has given us a little insight into what that home will be like. We’ve heard about streets of gold lined with mansions. We read in Scripture there will be no sorrow,  no sickness, and no pain. It’s supposed to be a virtual paradise in His presence. But, I believe it will be beyond anything we can imagine in our finite, mortal minds.

 

I still remember the first time I went to a football game in a stadium under the lights. It was a high school game and I was probably 12 or 13 years old, but I remember stepping into the stadium and a whole new world opened before me. I can still recall the transition as I moved from the darkness of the world outside the stadium into the bright lights within. It was amazing; think of Rudy’s dad (aka Ned Beatty) when he stepped into Notre Dame Stadium for the first time. “This is the most beautiful sight these eyes have ever seen,” he said.

 

The lights shining down on the field that night were so bright they lit up the colors of the uniforms. Everything was so sharp and vivid. And the sound of players colliding was as crisp as the cool night air. I noticed the stadium lights bouncing off of the players’ shiny helmets, and I knew this was something I wanted to be a part of. People could have described it to me, but this was beyond words. No one could have described this scene in a way that would enable me to truly appreciate what I saw as I entered that stadium.

 

I don’t think words can describe what we will see and experience when we enter heaven. I think it will be amazing. It will be beyond anything we can imagine because we live in a world of boundaries and limitations.

 

Ours is a results-oriented existence. You work hard-you get rewarded. We are programmed with worldly expectations. We expect to have to do certain things which we may or may not enjoy-grow old, pay bills, see the doctor, fill the car with gas, suffer pain or sickness, or grieve over a death. These are things that are simply a part of our world. But when we enter the world of God, these things will all be in the past.

 

To stand in God’s presence will be an experience beyond anything we can imagine and I, for one, can’t wait.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

