1 07 2013

My wife and I have always been very proud of each of our three sons. Each brings his own gifts to the table and I could go on and on with stories about each one. It was such a pleasure watching them grow up and it’s still fun to watch them today as young men. In fact, I can sum up their childhoods very succinctly-it was fun! I can see some of me in each one of them but they got something from their mother that has allowed them to take that piece of me and make it better. I see each one of them as the Bill 2.0.

Our youngest, Mark, is the comic. I believe if he chose to do it, he could be a good writer and public speaker; maybe even do stand-up comedy. He is quick, very bright and always good for a laugh. I can tell by the Facebook posts from his wife, Amanda, that he is the husband his mother and I raised him to be. He was probably most like me growing up. He was the one you could find in the top of our maple tree or wading knee deep through a creek looking for tadpoles. He was six years old when he told his mother and me he wanted to be baptitised-yes, baptitised. That’s how he pronounced it at that age. Like his older brother, he is a self-trained guitarist-a very good guitarist.

Eric, the middle son, is the athlete and alpha-geek. He was a better football and baseball player than I ever was. He also acquired my technical skills and my desire for woodworking but has taken each to the next level. The technical skills he easily applies to kompooters and sell fones (catch the veiled reference to my lack of computer technology by the misspelling?). My understanding of 21st century technology stops at the end of the 20th century-about 1981 when the first desktop came out. And as for woodworking, he can craft circles around me. Graecyn, his daughter, is too young yet to realize how blessed she is.

Then there’s Brian, our first-born. Brian was also athletic as a high school wrestler. At my best as a high school wrestler, he would have easily kicked my butt. Brian is actually capable of about anything he chooses but what I admire most about him is his tenacity. He gets in his mind something he wants to do and like a pit bull, he won’t let go until he is satisfied. When he was in middle school, he wanted to learn to play the guitar. Rather than spend good money on something he would abandon in a few weeks, I borrowed a guitar. Each day after school, he would shut himself up in his room with his borrowed guitar, guitar book and his Fender 351 (that’s a pick) and before the school year ended, he not only was playing, he was playing in a band.

There are many similar examples, but I said all that to say this…yesterday, he ran his first 5K and finished 7th in his age group and something like 54th out of 228 runners. Two years ago the boy weighed in at 234 pounds. He made up his mind he was going to lose weight and bought a bicycle. He became a serious rider, riding 40, 60, 80 miles at a time. Today, he is 160 pounds and running 5Ks.

My wife and I have been blessed from the beginning. As much as I would like to take credit, I must give all the glory to God. Here’s a short verse I wrote several years ago for my wife that seems apropos.

It wasn’t you, it wasn’t me who made your life and mine entwine
‘Twas God above and God alone
All we did was to refine.

I would have posted a family portrait but our most recent one was taken before Graecyn was born and it isn’t a Taylor family portrait without her.

Amanda and little Mark-10 lbs 12 oz and 24 inches long

Amanda and little Mark-10 lbs 12 oz and 24 inches long


Eric, Graecyn and Brooke

Eric, Graecyn and Brooke


Brian and Rachel after he graduated to big-boy bicycles

Brian and Rachel after he graduated to big-boy bicycles

L-R Mark, Eric and Brian

L-R Mark, Eric and Brian

Snow on Mt. Evans, Colorado

Snow on Mt. Evans, Colorado

Actions

Information

2 responses

1 07 2013
Amanda Taylor

I love that post! I think it is one of my favorites.

1 07 2013
Bill Taylor

I’m glad you like it. And don’t think for a minute that I’ve forgotten all the women in my life! Mama are proud of all our kids, regardless of how they came to us!

Leave a Reply

