Get Ready for Tomorrow Today

15 01 2013

We were scooting down the Alaskan coast over the Bering Sea on a flight from Singapore to Los Angeles when the pilot calmly asked over the intercom if there was a doctor on board. Apparently he got no response as moments later he asked if there was anyone on board with medical training. So, I was, like most everyone else on the plane, thinking there was someone who was sick or perhaps someone who had gone into labor and was about to give birth.800px-Singapore_Airlines_Boeing_777-312ER_Ryabtsev

We didn’t hear any more announcements so I assumed they had found a medical person and the ill passenger had been given whatever treatment could have been rendered at 38,000 feet.

Three or four more hours of our fourteen hour flight passed and I noticed we had begun a descent. But, I knew we were too far from LA to be descending, so I assumed we were going to make an unscheduled stop, probably San Francisco, to drop off the sick passenger. I figured to make a stop like that they must be pretty bad off.

I was right, half right anyway. The pilot soon announced there was a medical issue with one of the passengers and we were making a stop at San Francisco International Airport. He assured us the stop would be brief and we would then resume our trip.

We pulled up with the jet bridge at the front door of the plane. I was sitting by the aisle in the third row so this put me in a position to see everyone who came onto the plane and to hear conversations between the pilot standing nearby and emergency personnel. When they opened the door there was a host of emergency people including police officers, airport security, fire fighters and EMTs rushing into the plane.

As I sat there, wondering, like everyone else, what had happened to our fellow passenger, I overheard one of the police officers say something to the pilot about the “M.E.” I don’t know much about medicine but I’ve seen enough CSI to know that M.E. is short for medical examiner. I know, too, that you don’t call out the medical examiner for sick people. Sure enough, just minutes later, they wheeled a stretcher up the aisle and out of the plane. All we could see on the stretcher was a body bag.

I never did find out what happened to the passenger other than the fact he or she died while in-flight. Once we resumed, the pilot only announced the obvious but did not share any details.

You Better be Ready!

What’s the meaning of this true story? Simply put-you’d better be ready.

I’m sure, whoever this passenger was, had no idea when he or she boarded that plane in Singapore that he or she would not live long enough to walk off the plane in Los Angeles. Where will that person spend eternity? Was that passenger ready to stand before God? Are you ready to stand before God?

Scripture says in Matthew 24:41-42 that two women will be grinding with a hand mill; one will be taken and the other left. “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come.”

You, me, any of us could be taken away at any moment. One minute you’re here and in the blink of an eye, you’re gone. Jesus could return at any moment and when that happens it’ll be too late to say, “Okay, Lord, I know I’ve done some bad things and never believed in you but now, I believe.” It won’t work that way. The people in Noah’s day laughed at him as he built the ark that would carry him and his family to safety…that is until the rain wouldn’t stop and the ground opened up and it became clear that this was no typical rain storm. If you have not already done so, you should repent for all those things you said or did that displeased God and express your desire to have Him in your life as Lord of your life. Get ready for tomorrow today. Being ready means knowing God. It means recognizing that Jesus is the Savior of all mankind and accepting Him as your personal Savior.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 01 2013
Regan Clem

Great piece. I’m perusing the internet for sermon illustrations. Your story won’t work for my sermon, but it did work on my soul. Thanks for sharing.

16 01 2013
Bill Taylor

Thank you for the comment. As I’m sure you have experienced, it’s good to know your work was meaningful to someone. Perhaps there are older stories on my blog that you could find useful. God bless and happy perusing!

Leave a Reply

