Picture This

9 06 2012

A couple of weeks ago, as I blew out the candles on my 60th birthday cake, it occurred to me, through the smell of singed eyebrows, that I’m not getting any younger. I thought back to when my grandfather died and how I regretted never taking the opportunity to sit down with him to learn more about him and his younger days. What made Granddaddy the person he was? I remember seeing very few pictures of Granddaddy in his youth. Of course, they didn’t preserve memories as abundantly as we do today in this age of digital photography. My granddaughters will probably ask me one day what film is.

Well, I have a blog. I also have lots of pictures and am told by my social media strategist that people really like to see pictures on blogs. So, rather than allow my pictures to die on my hard-drive or fade into unrecognizable yellow patches in a photo album, I want to begin posting more pictures for readers to enjoy…or ridicule as the case may be.

In this first posting, I have included pictures from a trip I made to Australia in 2007. Click the pic to enlarge. I hope you enjoy.

Trick this truck, dude. I was fortunate to be given a ride into a mine in this monster.

Sunset at Dolphin Quay Marina. A two block walk from my hotel.

Sunset at Dolphin Quay

The beach at Mandurah

The Peel-Harvey Estuary.

Fishing boats at Freemantle

The sidewalks at Fremantle

The Old Round House at Fremantle. I don’t remember…Google it.

Lighthouse at the entrance to Inner Harbour at Fremantle

Esplanade-Hotel Fremantle

The King of Coordination. Nice young man I met at Fremantle

Pelicans at Peel-Harvey Estuary

The Premier Hotel near Pinjarra

Some kind of bird…not sure what kind

A peacock near Mandurah

Another fancy bird

Black swans

A windmill.I just like the picture.

Moon over Mandurah. From the balcony of my room.

Cottages by my hotel in Mandurah

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

