We Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Smart Phone!

7 02 2011

I will be honest, technology is simply moving too fast for this baby-boomer. I was reluctant to get a cell phone when my wife first made the suggestion several years ago. In fact, about the only reason I even carry a cell phone is because she wants me to so she can reach me whenever she likes. I got along just fine for a very long time without a cell phone, but I’ve grown accustomed to it. Now I like having it around.

I like the convenience and the security it gives me, knowing it is there and my wife can reach me whenever she needs to (or wants to). I like being able to call a client on the left coast and not have to enter a bunch of digits on a phone card into a pay phone to make contact. It even allows ADT to reach me while I’m traveling so they can tell me my house has been broken into. But they can’t leave well enough alone. Now we have smart phones.

My sons and daughters-in-law, as well as most of the people I know, all have smart phones. Two of my sons and their wives have Droids, while the third and his girlfriend are die-hard Blackberry freaks. They keep telling me that I should enter the 21st Century and get one too. I felt like I entered the 21st Century when I bought my first Dell, dude. As for a smart phone…well, my simple Casio is smarter than I am so why would I want to go and get something even smarter? Sure, the smart phone has lots of apps and capabilities which my idiot phone does not have. It can tell me what’s on television…so can the channel guide on my TV. It can tell me the weather forecast…so can my weather man on WRAL. It can wake me up in the morning…so can my Casio if I could play with it long enough to figure out how to set the alarm feature; but, I don’t need to because I have an internal alarm that wakes me when I want to be awakened.

Smart phones are very impressive with all their features, but they have many, many features that I know I would never use. For me, this would be a waste of money. I don’t want to go back to the days of the dial phone and party line, and the day may come when I decide a smart phone is the way to go. But for now-I’m satisfied with the simplicity of my idiot phone.

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 02 2011
Anna Anthony

Your blog is so much wittier than mine, who knew you were such a writer?

And by the way, I’m very much looking forward to switching from a Blackberry to the iphone this week-getting email makes smart phones worth it!

7 02 2011
Bill Taylor

You never know about me, I’m full of surprises. Hope you enjoy that new iphone. I suppose the day will come when I’ll have to go that route as well but as long as I’m the mayor of Geezerville I’ll put it off as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

