The Christmas Tree-Part Two

14 12 2010

For many reasons, Christmas has always been my favorite time of year. I’ll get into that in Part Three, but, for now, I’ll just say that I have always felt no one should be without a Christmas tree on Christmas.

I mentioned in my last post that I have done most of the decorating for our family Christmas trees since I was about 8 years old. Daddy drove a truck and traveled throughout the lower 48 and Canada. He would be away from home for months at a time. Therefore, I learned at an early age how to take care of many of the household responsibilities, such as minor plumbing repairs and putting up the Christmas tree.

We lived only a block from what was then Atlantic Christian College. Today it is known as Barton College in Wilson, North Carolina. There was a sorority house just around the corner. It was a huge, older home with high ceilings.

It was 1961 and I was 9 years old. My oldest sister, Alice, had gotten married only two months earlier and she and her new husband, Ray, were out-of-town for the weekend. They lived in a small apartment only a block away from us, and, like most newlyweds, didn’t have much. That included Christmas decorations and the money to buy them. I thought it was sad they would not have a Christmas tree.  

I don’t remember where I was going but I found myself walking past the sorority house. The co-eds had all gone home for the holidays but before leaving they took down a large Christmas tree, which had been sitting inside at the foot of the huge stair case, and had put it by the curb. As I walked past it, it occurred to me that this was a perfectly good Christmas tree going to waste. The tree was about 9 or 10 feet tall and as I looked at it I thought it would be nice if my sister had the tree in her apartment. Realizing-one, the tree was too large for their small apartment and two, it would take a bajillion lights to decorate it, I went home and got daddy’s hand saw. I returned to the tree and cut off the top three or four feet.

I took the modified tree to their apartment along with the lights and other decorations we had not used, and put it up in their living room. When Alice and Ray got back home later that evening, they walked into their apartment to find a fully decorated Christmas tree sitting in their living room. As I said, no one should be without a Christmas tree.

Actions

Information

4 responses

14 12 2010
JACKIE GARNER

AWE …..so you have always been this way.Sometimes daddy god just shows out.

14 12 2010
Bill Taylor

Yep. Always have loved Christmas and I have daddy God to thank. Some of my fondest memories are Christmas related. Part Three is coming!

15 12 2010
Wendy Brown

WOW!! what a wonderful story!! I love hearing about my aunts and uncles as children. I guess you look up to them as a child and never realize your self that they were children once too lol! I bet it really made Aunt Alice and Uncle Ray happy especially that her little brother thought that much about her to do such a sweet thing!

16 12 2010
Bill Taylor

You’re right, Wendy, it isn’t easy to imagine our elders as children or teens. What’s even harder, I think, is to realize you have reached an age at which you can remember your own parents being. I think this story illustrates how much I have always thought of both Alice and Ray but it also demonstrates how much Christmas and family traditions have always meant to me.

Leave a Reply

