The Mockingbird

30 11 2010

Like I said before, this poetry thing is fun. Here’s one for anyone who has ever been attacked by a mockingbird.

As I looked up into a tree

                I saw a mockingbird.

His chatter was loud and shrill and clear

                More than any I had heard.

I said, “Why do you rattle on like that?

                You’re just a babbling boob”.

He said, “Why do you rattle on like that?

                You’re just a babbling boob”.

I thought, this really is a mockingbird

                He repeats everything I say.

I’d really like to catch this bird

                Before he flies away.

He has uncanny talent

                That can make me a very rich man.

 I must climb to his lofty perch

                And catch him if I can.

So, as I climbed I whispered

                “I’ll make you a happy bird.

I’ll put you in a nice warm cage

                On that you have my word.

I’ll keep you and I’ll care for you

                I’ll provide your every wish.

I’ll buy you worms and seed galore

                Served from a golden dish.

I’ll put a soft bed in your cage

                So you can lounge around all day.”

The bird looked down his beak at me

                 Said, “Buzz off”, then flew away.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

