It’s Not All Good!

7 11 2010

After the Robbery!

If you read my last post, then you know the story of how I came to be the proud owner of a brand new, professionally installed, absolutely free, weather-strip. If you haven’t read that story, then I would suggest you begin there.

Okay, there’s good news, there’s bad news, there’s worse news, and then there’s this is the worst news I can imagine news.

The good news: I got home last night at 11:00, following a long week of crisscrossing the central U.S. As I pulled into the driveway, I saw the newly installed front door, standing proudly as a stalwart deterrent to future unauthorized home entrants. At the bottom of the door…my new weather-strip! Check that off my honey-do list.

The bad news: As I looked at the new door, I noticed how white it is. The old door was painted in a Williamsburg blue to match the shutters and complement the color of the house. Turns out, the gentleman my wife hired to install the door doesn’t do painting. Well, I can’t fault him for that. Of course, that only means I’ll have to paint it myself and I’ve already told you how I feel about painting.

The worse news: This woman and I have been married for over thirty-nine years. There are a lot of things I may be slow about, after all, I am a man; but, there are some things I know about my wife.  I know when she sees the new door after I have completed painting it, she will think how new it will look. She will then point out how bad the new door makes the shutters, also a Williamsburg blue, appear and will ask me to paint the shutters. My list is getting longer!

The worst news I can imagine news: No doubt, when my wife sees how much better the newly painted door and the shutters look she will insist the house looks terrible and should also be painted. How did I go from getting my TV stolen to painting the house? Could things get any worse? I guess I should just be grateful they didn’t steal something important like my leaf vacuum/chipper.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

